Bearded Woods

On our first day out of Kent CT we heard of an oasis for hikers called Bearded Woods. The name came from the fact that you could tell it was thru-hiker season when all the bearded men came out of the woods. :) This stay would be welcome after the nasty greeting we got in Kent. It seemed as thought this was something I needed to do, even though it was not in my plan. So we did 18 miles and called Hudson to pick us up. It ended up being 6 people crammed into the vehicle, with 3 in the back with 6 packs. I’m sure it didn’t smell very good back there!

common area with picture of knife’s edge

When we arrived we were told to put our poles and shoes in a rack and we were shown to our rooms. There was a huge picture of Hudson on Katahdin looking back onto Knife’s Edge. Sculls and pelts greeted us as Hudson is an avid hunter. There was amazing woodwork and the bathroom was cleaner than any I have seen. Their goal is to be the cleanest place on the trail. So far so good. This is their first season. They make an effort to stay it is a Bunk and Dine, not a hostel because they serve supper and breakfast. The meals were amazing!

eating an amazing meal! Thanks Big Lu!

Big Lu is an amazing chef. As we ate it was really quiet cause we were all eating and enjoying our food. We watched Into the Wild and conversed. It was a great experience. Oh, and Big Lu is actually under 5 feet and just a little thing. :)

We had a hiker there named Kazoo and he had 36 ticks embedded and removed from his body. These are the ticks that give Lyme Disease. We all checked ourselves closely after that. I haven’t found any yet. I treated my clothes with Permethrin which kills ticks on contact. I am still nervous about this though, especially because Reaper had to get off the trail because of a tick. I have heard of several people that have been treated for Lymes.

Other hikers there included Castaway, Goman, Spring, Squatch and another section hiker. Squatch is doing a documentary on the trail. It was very interesting and who knows, maybe I’ll be famous! I am sure Kazoo will be. :)

If you thru-hike I would suggest skipping Kent  and stopping at Bearded Woods instead. They have a great deal! They pick up from Cornwall Bridge, Falls Village or Salisbury CT.

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on August 8, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Imagine my surprise when I’m looking up hostel addresses to send postcards and found this. I managed to finish despite the Lyme, but it certainly made it no easier.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

