one month later

I have been done with the trail for a month now. Here are some things that I have noticed:

I still have a tendancy to to look at the toilet paper roll in the bathroom and wonder if it would be small enough to take in the wilderness.

My feet are still sore. I walk like I ran a marathon the day before right away in the morning. I can’t walk barefoot at all.

I ran on the treadmill and had to remind myself that it is not appropriate to do a snot rocket inside. Oops.

People still would like me to write a book, who knows…

I have over 1300 pictures and I need to weed them down so I can put them in an album.

I haven’t had the urge to sleep outside yet, but I do miss the fresh air.

I am going stir crazy at home, I miss my ‘job’ of hiking.

I still take longer showers than needed. It just feels so good!

Eating like I am still on the trail is a dangerous thing! We are still eating some trail food because we had leftovers when Alison got off the trail.

At first the thought of hiking again was the last thing I wanted to do, but as I get farther away I miss it more. It was such an amazing experience! But it is hard to sumaraize that experience.

I felt like I didn’t fit in anywhere at first. It was a very strange feeling. I know life moved on without me, but it was still weird to be back. I wasn’t expecting to be almost depressed with nothing to do. For nearly 6 months I had this goal in front of me and I was working toward it constantly. Then all of the sudden it was gone. I had accomplished this amazing feat and I didn’t have something else to jump into. People kept telling me to just relax and enjoy being home. If you know me well you understand that I have a hard time sitting still for long periods of time. :) I started looking for jobs (which for someone who can lack patience this is very difficult) and I hope to get something soon.

I miss the people that I met on the trail and I have been looking up information about the trail almost every day. This includes looking at other people’s journals, seeing how many people summited, or trying to find people on facebook. This is difficult as I don’t know any of their real names!

I am still finding ways that I have changed, and things I have learned about myself. That process will continue for a long time yet. I hope I never stop learning.

Thanks again for your support, even as I try to re-enter society!

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on October 25, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. What a joy to read along with you as you walked for whippersnappers! Thank you for your faithful posts when you must have been exhausted and having other things to attend to. I hope you will come to next summer’s Mennonite Church USA conference in Phoenix and share your incredible journey! Take care and God bless.

  2. Congrats on making it all the way Renee!

  3. Renee would you be interested in talking about your experience at the Salem Home? I think that the residents might find it very interesting. You can e-mail me with your reply at salemhome@gwtc.net

    Denise Peterson, Activity Director

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

