Quote Worthy

Here are some quotes we have come across while reading and watching movies about the trail:

” Living your dream is one thing, but sharing it lets everyone live it with you.”

“I realized I smelled like a pile of old, sweaty socks that had fermented in a dark basement for a few weeks.”

“Hike your own hike.”

“No pain, no rain, no Maine.”

“The first week you think: I’m way down in Georgia and I’m already exhausted. But you know if you stay in one place nothing exciting is going to happen.” Henery Phillips

“Now that I’ve reached my destination, I realize it wasn’t the destination that was importatn: it was the journey.” Robie ‘Jumpstart’ Hensley

“I can’t explain what it will be like. You are never really going to know what it’s like until you get out there.” Ross ‘Ridgerunner’ Geredian

“[on the trail] everybody’s a hiker and you’re all equal in the eyes of the trail.” Dorthy Hansen

“One day I heard a thru-hiker say that when you’re in town you’ll order a large pizza, then get a pint of Ben and Jerry’s ice cream and then figure out what you’re going to eat next. Then in one town I had a large pizza and was scraping out the container of ice cream when it dawned on me that that guy was right!” Luke ‘the Journeyman’ Wiaczek

Questions we will ask ourselves: What will we have for dinner tonight? What’s the heaviest food in my pack? Should I eat it now? Am I due a snack? What should I eat when I hit town?

“The more I carry in my backpack, the less I enjoy the trail.” Sonie ‘light eagle’  Shames

“I didn’t plan, I just wanted to hike the trail. I’d heard about the trail and I came.” Charles (who had 30 bibles and 50 beanie weenie cans to start the trail)

“With other trails you could test yourself. You get the adventure, but not the camaraderie.” Dorthy Hansen

“At the end of the trail all the men look homeless and the women look like supermodels.”

“If everything was perfect on this trip, it wouldn’t be fun.” – Renee

“When things go wrong, as they sometimes will, when the road you are trudging seems uphill, when the funds are low and the debts are high, and you want to smile, but you have to sigh, when care is pressing you down a bit… rest if you must but don’t you quit! Success is failure turned inside out. The silver tint of the clouds of doubt, and you never can tell how close you are, it may be near when it seems afar. So stick to the fight when you are hardest hit- its when things go wrong that you should never quit!” – unknown

“You’ll learn more about a road by traveling it, then by consulting all the maps in the world” – unknown/Grandpa Neufeld

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on March 20, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

