Hammocks

So, this is Renee writing. It is sad that Alison isn’t on the trail anymore, but the fact that she is trail angeling Reaper and myself is amazing. We met her in Hot Springs North Carolina and everyone looked at us like we were crazy cause we had a car. It was quite hilarious actually. Even though the trail goes right through Hot Springs it was really nice not to have to walk to the post office, laundromat and other places. This town isn’t even the size of Freeman, but any less walking is great.

bunked hammocks

Because Alison left the trail I have acquired a hammock. It was nervous about getting in it the first time, but actually I succeeded. I only flipped out of it once while getting out of it in the morning. However the sleep that I got in it the first night was not quality. I believe there is a break-in period for such things. At least I hope the next time I try sleeping it I will actually sleep. The hammock is just for when I don’t sleep in shelters, so there is potential that it won’t be used a whole lot.

Speaking of shelters…do me a favor and if you decide to section hike anywhere on the Appalachian Trail, that you are not obnoxious. We had such an experience with some section hikers. We hang our food on bear cables and these cables were especially squeaky at one shelter. These people got into their food bag what seemed like every 2 hours during the night. They also complained about how much everything weighed – like headlamps. Okay, they are only section hiking. Ask any AT thru-hiker and they have shifted and figured out what things they can do without, nearly daily. The next shelter we stayed at everyone that had stayed in the shelter with those people slept in their tents or hammocks. I’m not sure they got the hint that the shelter was empty because of them.

 

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on May 3, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. kwoodard6@frontier,com

    Amen Renee……if you’re going to be out on the trail and whine….then just don’t go!!!

  2. I hope these are anti-bear hammocks!!!! Maybe you need to hang them up higher! : ) Will continue to pray for you girls & the experiences you will have.

Leave a Reply

