VA!!

into VA!!

straddling the state line

On Thursday I entered my 4th state! I have gone 466.9 miles and will have over 500 miles in VA. It will be a long time before there is a post in another state. I must have been excited to get to Damascus, because I booked the 10.2 or so miles in nearly 3 hours. Whoa. And I was even wearing crocs.

The reason I was wearing crocs is because my left pinky toe was bleeding after my 22.8 mile day on Wednesday. My boots may have finally gotten too small. They also stink really bad, but maybe I just need this spray?

odor eater?

I am debating on whether to send them home and buy new shoes. Damascus is the place to buy if I do want new shoes. I’m having a hard time justifying spending $95 on shoes at the moment though. I may get my boots back for PA. I hear that’s where boots go to die. 🙂 My boots are 10 years old, so it could be time for them to retire even though they are not coming apart yet.

As I was coming into Damascus I was really comforted by all the VA license plates. I think it’s because I know people that live in VA and I will be able to see some of them hopefully.

Cool story about the Vanderventer shelter. The water is .3 away from the

view from vanderventer

shelter down a steep hill. (no that’s not the cool part) As I was snacking to get the gumption up to hike that hill there were some guys that came up to the shelter that were on a day hike. They wanted to see the view. It was a cool view. Anyway I said I was from South Dakota and they said ‘no way!’. Yeah, SD is pretty cool I said. Anyway, they are going to school at The School of Mines in Rapid City. Whoa! I was pretty blown away. What are the chances. I’ve loved little experiences like that.

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on May 19, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. VA is so beautiful. Thanks for sharing your photos and experiences. Barb

Leave a Reply

