The Place

The Place

The Place is a hostel in Damascus that is run by the United Methodist Church. There is no drinking, tobacco and firearms at this site, which is great because I don’t want to deal with those things. It’s too bad that they don’t also have a rule about snoring. That would make a perfect hostel. I slept okay until 3am, but then I had to go to the bathroom. I must have set a precedent because it seemed like everyone had to go to the bathroom after that. Ugh! So, I basically was awake from 3:30 on. YEAH! Oh, I was also starving at 3:30. Maybe my hiker hunger is kicking in?

common room

The Place has a bunk room, tenting, bathroom, lounge area and even an upstairs. This place is fancy! I really liked the chair beside my bed and the caretaker Bayou said that he should start charging me rent for the chair. Maybe I’ll give an extra donation for use of the chair. I had a top bunk, so I wasn’t able to sit on the bunk to read or whatever.

Much to my chagrin the only laundromat in town was closed down a couple weeks ago. AHH! I want clean clothes! But, then Bayou informed me that a very nice neighbor lady does laundry for $5 a load. I hope she wears a mask and gloves when she does it. I was able to go in with someone else, so it was only $2.50. That’s better than any laundromat I’ve been in.

There was also a hiker box with lots of items like pasta sides and other items that hikers love. Like alcohol wipes.

Over the past few days I’ve gotten to know Sly Fox and Tex and have been hiking with them. One is old enough to be my dad, the other is probably 10 years younger than I. They both don’t party, so it’s been nice to hang with them.

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on May 20, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

