No Pain

One of the favorite quotes here on the trail is: No pain, no rain, no Maine. So, I have decided to do a couple of posts expounding on that.

Some people have been wondering how I am doing physically. Well, I have to say that every day something hurts. It could be a toe or an elbow or fingernail. But, every day it’s something. Here’s a run down of some of my injuries:

Mosquito, gnat and flea bites. Most of these have not itched, but my body is sort of poka dotted.

My left pinky toe was smashed because of foot expansion after 22.8 miles of hiking. I had a blister under a blister. Not fun. I was able to wear my crocs for the next day however, so my foot had room to breath.

Blisters on my heels and the top of my toes from a crease in my boot. This only happens when wet.

My knees have protested – both the center and my IT band. Most of this has to do with large steps off and onto rocks. I am wearing some patella supports and I think they are helping.

Shoulders – I think that I have a massive knot covering all of my upper back. At times there feels like there is a bee stinging me on the shoulder blade. So, if anyone wants to come out and give me a backrub that would be the best trail magic ever!!

My hip bones are getting bruised from my pack weight. If the pack is not adjusted well it really rides there. The same is true for my collar bone, I have some bruising there too. Sometimes it hurts no matter how I have my pack adjusted.

The hip muscles and my butt hurt at times from going up hills. Lots of butt burners. Who needs buns of steel VHS tapes? I got what you need on the trail! 🙂

The arches and balls of my feet have also been hurting. I replaced my insoles and the next stop is getting new arch supports. It could be that my boots are on their way out as well.

The most recent ailment is a pain on the top of my left foot. It doesn’t hurt with every step, but it hurts when I bend my foot a certain way. I am really hoping that this is not a stress fracture, cause that could end my hike. My foot is not swollen though and because it doesn’t hurt with every step I am hopeful.

All in all none of this has kept me from hiking, so it’s all good. The pain reminds me that I’m human and keeps me from going too fast or too long. Zero days are important. I haven’t taken any ibuprofen yet, so that’s good. I’ve definitly had pain on this journey…

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on May 30, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. kwoodard6@frontier,com

    From your faviorite nurse in NC……TAKE THE IBUPROFEN!!!! Silly girl….it will really help your feet and make you feel so much better. Foot pain is the worst! I’ve had some foot problems too and it takes rest and the meds….I know you won’t rest so take the meds!!! Think about you every day Renee…..praying for you to have a great trip!.
    Kim

Leave a Reply

