No Rain Part 2

When it finally stops raining you take off your rain jacket and enjoy the sun, that is until you bump a tree with your pack and it rains again, this time just from the leaves.

My hair usually gets really curly. Yeah humidity!

I do wear a rain jacket, but leave it well vented because if I’m not getting wet from the outside I am from sweat on the inside. Great! Oh, and the cool thing about my rain jacket is that water collects in my sleeve from my hand opening and when I go to take a drink of water it all runs down my back. Nice.

You usually don’t have the option to not hike in the rain. A few times I have been in town and zeroing when it’s raining. But, most of the time you just go. You get into a zone and just hike – plodding sometimes, going quickly others. Having a hood up is a mixed blessing – you can’t see very far in front of you to see the huge climbs, but you also can’t see what else is happening. You’re in your own little world.

I have definitely had lots of rain, but I was told to be prepared for a month of rain straight. Thankfully that hasn’t happened. I shall continue to plod on…even through the rain.

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on June 1, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love reading your blogs! At times I’m a bit jealous of your adventures, except when you mention rain, blisters, and body aches. I hope you’re able to stay strong mentally, physically, emotionally, and spiritually on this trek!

Leave a Reply

