The Itis

my pack

One day as I was eating lunch at a shelter, a fellow hiker came in and as we talked he mentioned that his pack already had the ‘itis’. As he explained, I realized that mine does too! The ‘itis’ is the stench of the pack. Note the fabric on the back and shoulder straps. This is where the itis sets in. Unfortunately I don’t just perspire, I sweat, especially going up long hills. So, all that funk gets into the fabric – never to leave. Even after I take a shower in town I go to put on my pack and UGGHH! I smell already. I have yet to try febreeze, although I imagine that it will just smell like febreeze trying to cover up the itis. Stay tuned for an update after I get some febreeze…

 

the portion of my pack that rests on my back

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on June 12, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

