Some Excitement

Last night (June 8th) I was trying to fall asleep on the cement floor in the Glasgow VA shelter, when I started hearing a rustling sound. I figured one of the hikers had come in and was rummaging through their belongings to find something. However, when I looked around I saw a skunk that had gotten into some hamburger buns and other foods left in the hiker box.

What to do!?! Should I try to sneak out of the shelter? But where would I go? How would I know if the skunk had left. I was the only one sleeping in there, so I didn’t have any company. So, I decided to stay perfectly still and watch to see what the skunk would do. Maybe it wouldn’t detect my presence, or at least not be threatened by it. As I watched it tore into several packages and then became disinterested in that. It started walking towards me! AHH! Breathing was becoming more difficult. It stopped about a foot in front of me and was sniffing the ground, then it turned and it’s tail was facing my direction. Great! If I get sprayed no one will stay in the shelters with me. As I was figuring out how long it would take for the smell to go away the skunk casually walked out, as if it had no cares in the world. Once I started breathing again I was able to calm down enough to go back to sleep. I never did get sprayed, but I am eager to get back out into the woods where people don’t leave as much food laying around.

At least the skunk didn’t try to cuddle with me!

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on June 13, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hillarious! Gotta love nature!

  2. WOW!!! What a great time 🙂 Got love God’s creation 🙂

  3. Please write a book about your experiences! It should be a “best Seller!”

  4. Heyyyyyyyy,
    Glad to see that you are still on the trail. Cool story !!!
    I will continue to follow ur hike. Hike on !!!
    Xanadu

Leave a Reply

