Gear Shake Down

While I was in Waynesboro I did a gear shake down. Alison had brought some of my lighter gear and I was anxious to move to some lighter gear. This means I hopefully will have less shoulder soreness and my feet should feel better. Here is a run down of most of the gear I switched out:

zero degree on the left liner on the right

Zero degree bag for a sleeping bag liner

 

 

 

 

 

 

leatherman vs scissors

I had this huge and heavy leatherman multi-tool that had 4 screw drivers, pliers, 2 saws, a knife, scissors, can opener and a file. And only used the scissors. So, I bought a fiscars scissors and am sending the monstrocity with Alison.

 

 

blue vs yellow

 

I had Alison bring me a different tarp. One that is bigger and maybe lighter.

 

 

 

 

heavy vs light

Even my boots got traded out for trail runners. My feet will feel so much lighter!

 

 

My running socks will be lighter than my wool socks.

wool vs synthetic

 

body glide

 

 

 

 

 

 

Even my body glide got down sized.

fuel canisters

The fuel can I had was huge! I got it in Hot Springs and there is still fuel in it! That was over 6 weeks ago! I like exclamation points!

 

I am looking forward to seeing how much lighter my pack feels. 🙂

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on June 21, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. You really DID downsize! Let us know how much less you’ll be carrying.

  2. When you catch me, you will have to carry some of my gear. That will be the only way to slow you down to my speed;)

  3. Pretty soon you’ll just be running down the AT! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

