Things Renee Thinks While Hiking

I am sure that you are wondering what goes through my head as I hike. Here is a glimpse:

Yum! Spider webs for breakfast! (the first person on the trail often gets all the spider webs)

What in the forest smells like laundry detergent?

I miss camp!

Me take care of me belly button…(this is a camp song)

These rocks would be great for the rocking project at camp!

Why is this bee buzzing around my head? I do not smell like a flower!

What is a gnat’s fascination with eyes? There always seems to be one flying by my eyeballs.

Why do I keep going uphill when the handbook says it’s supposed to be downhill?

Thank you God for giving me the ability to do this hike and for your creation!

I wonder how_____(insert hiker’s name) is doing and if they are still on the trail.

I hate rocks!

Here shelter, shelter, shelter!

I need a zipline.

I wonder if the trees with blazes feel special…

Wow, those views are amazing!

My feet hurt. 😦

I thought they said Virginia was flat?!

It is NOT all downhill from here, or anywhere.

Did I sign up for bouldering?

When will I be able to shower next? Or do laundry?

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on June 23, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hi Kleenex – I very much enjoyed meeting you on the hike through Shenandoah NP! Your home made beef jerky was delicious! I might need to contact you after the hike for the recipe. I am staying tonight st the Front Royal Super 8, which seems to be a good choice to me.
    Happy Trails – Slowfoodt

  2. All so true !!!
    – Xanadu

  3. Reading this made me laugh 🙂 I like getting a small look inside your head!

  4. Nice list, K, but I’m pretty sure town food is near the top for me.

Leave a Reply

