Trash

yeah! a trash can!

One of the things a thru-hiker hates is trash. Following the leave no trace policy, one must pack out what they pack in, so that means carrying your wrappers and bags etc. You want to make sure you eat all your food so you don’t have to pack that out too. Thankfully you don’t have to pack out your toilet paper. 🙂 Over the course of 4-5 days you can accumulate over a gallon ziplock full of trash. It’s not a lot of weight, but it is bulky. Nearly the first thing to do in a town is get rid of trash.

Sometimes you will meet a section hiker that asks if they can take your trash out. This is music to a thru-hiker’s ears and most will jump all over it. This is true trail magic. In VA we found we were excited to cross the Blue Ridge Parkway and see if we could find a coveted litter can. In the Shenandoah National Park we were able to dump trash at the picnic areas and waysides.

If you section hike, do the thru-hiker’s a favor and ask to take their trash out. You will definitely make fast friends!

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on June 25, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. My dearest Renee
    If you knew how much toilet paper I have picked up and packed out you would be sick!!! I am a Master Leave No Trace trainer and believe me ….. you ARE supposed to pack out your toilet paper. What do you do with it??
    On the other hand…..THANKS for writing about the trash…..most of the trash you find is from day hikers and section hikers it seems. I clean up every site I come to especially in the GSMN park.
    Also, I never thought about asking a thru hiker about carrying out their trash!!! What a great idea!
    Thanks
    Kim in NC

  2. I had become callus over the years to the thoughtlessness of some hikers to leave trash on the trail. I thought why should I pick it up. But as I witnessed two acts of thoughtfulness by other hikers, I changed my mind. Yesterday and today I packed out trash I found on the trail.

    • Way to go Castaway!! It takes a village to keep OUR outdoors clean….just like life….do your part and we can all enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

