SNP

an overlook

The Shenandoahs were hyped up to be flat with lots of views and one of the best parts of the trail. While there were flat sections and good views I think it’s in the wrong place in VA for me to enjoy it as much. I have been getting what is termed: the VA blues. I am ready to be done with VA. The SNP gets visited by many people and it really surprised me how overgrown some of the trail is. Hello – tick city! To be fair there were a couple places where someone had recently taken a weed wacker to the sides of the trail. This was much appreciated. There were also places that needed more blazes on the trees. It’s never fun to think you might be going the wrong direction. I’ve asked the Lord for a blaze many a time! We have also had a ton of heat and humidity and that really saps the energy level and takes away my appetite. You have to make sure you drink enough because you’re sweating a ton, dripping actually.

Mary’s rock and Stony Man had good overlooks, but I think that the SNP gives way more views to the drivers than the hikers. We saw some people rock climbing and rappelling off of Stony Man. Guess I could do that next time I come. 🙂 There were a lot of section hikers in this area and it was fun to get to know them.

One fun thing was that Alison and Molly came with me for the first day of hiking in SNP. We had a good time and I helped

taking a break

them see what it’s really like on the trail, at least for Molly anyway. None of us slept very well that night in the shelter and we even got to walk in the rain a bit. We did entertain everyone as we tried to use the bear pole to hang our bear bag though. 🙂 I showed Molly how to use the water filter and they got the whole experience. Chris picked them up on Skyline Drive the next morning.

As I said, I am ready to be out of VA. By the time you read this I may be. My plan is to be in Harper’s Ferry on the 28th of June. That is actually 2 days ahead of schedule. Things are doing well.

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on June 28, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. From what I’ve read, Renee, yours is not an unusual experience. Pray you’re able to persevere!
    Grace and peace, Buzz.

Leave a Reply

