1000 miles

Nooga and I with 1,000

In the midst of the roller coaster we came across the boundary maker between VA and WV. Finally! We’re out of VA! But, then we noticed that in the book there were 2 such boundaries. We actually went right back into VA and crossed the border again. This is a cruel joke. I mean we walk like 535 miles in VA and we still can’t get out!

Anyway – the first border crossing is where the thru-hiker companion that I use to plan my days said we hit 1,000 miles. Wow! It’s so hard to believe. I just hike 12-20 miles a day and it adds up. I hit the 1,000 mile mark on June 27th around noon. (I realize you won’t get this until the 3rd of July – beauty of only having internet in town)ย  Nooga, Bandana and I took pictures and ate lunch there. Then sevearl miles later we came to a sign that said. 1,000. What?! I tell you these trail people like to mess with your head. We decided though that sign was probably old and because the trail moves each year it probably just wasn’t moved. The first place was where we ACTUALLY hit the 1,000 mile mark. I guess if we tell ourselves that it really doesn’t matter what the signs say. ๐Ÿ™‚

I did 1,000 in a little less than 3 months as I started on April 4. Nice work if I do say so myself. ๐Ÿ™‚ And at this point I am 2 days ahead of my schedule. But, I have followed that very loosely and I have plans to stay with a lot of people in PA. So excited about that. Now I will get to the half way point in about 92 more miles. Cool.

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on July 2, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Larry Searle

    Congrats on doing 1000 miles !!!
    –Xanadu

  2. G. Heidebrecht

    Congratulations Renee! How many pairs of shoes have you worn out?
    Kind thoughts are sent to you today.
    From, Aunt Gladys

Leave a Reply

