Shenandoah River

As I walked across the bridge to Harper’s Ferry WV I started singing Country Roads by John Denver. (Thanks to Donna Slack to whom I taught this song on the guitar)

Here are the lyrics:

Shenandoah River

Almost heaven, West Virginia
Blue Ridge Mountains, Shenandoah River
Life is old there, older than the trees
Younger than the mountains, blowing like a breeze
Chorus: Country roads, take me home
To the place I belong
West Virginia, Mountain Mama
Take me home, country roads
All my memories, gathered ’round her
Miners’ Lady, stranger to blue water
Dark and dusty, painted on the sky
Misty taste of moonshine, teardrop in my eye
Chorus
I hear her voice, in the morning hour she calls me
The radio reminds me of my home far away
And drivin’ down the road I get the feeling
That I should have been home yesterday, yesterday
 

I was so ready to get to West Virginia and the last part makes me think of home. It is indeed far away as is the camp that I worked at. I get a little homesick, for an easier life sometimes. But the breeze blowing on my face reminds me that God is with me here and will carry me through the hard times.

Here is a quote I have written in the front of my journal:

“It is for us not to pray for tasks equal to our powers, but powers equal to our tasks, to go forward with a great desire forever beating at the door of our hearts as we travel toward our distant goal.”  ~ Hellen Keller

Sometimes the tasks are hard (the rocks especially pointy, the heat oppressive, the miles long, the emotions drained) but I just need to ask God for the strength to complete the tasks in front of me. And my goal still seems very distant, but I’m almost half way! Thank you so much for your prayers on this journey!

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on July 4, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. What a coincidence – I was singing the same song as I came down into WV, but I didn’t know all the lyrics and had to hum parts of it. Thanks for filling them in for me!
    Castaway

  2. This was my devotion for today & couldn’t help but think of you. — Mary Ann

    “My Unseen Guest”

    God walks the trail with me each day,
    He is my Friend, My Guide
    However long or steep the road,
    He’s ever by my side.

    He sits with me in evening’s hush;
    We speak, we laugh, we pray,
    And my heart sings a joyful song…
    He’s never far away.

    And through each dark and lonely night,
    He’s guarding from above.
    In perfect peace, I rest secure
    In His eternal love.
    Poet, Lee Simmons

Leave a Reply

