Harper’s Ferry

Harper’s Ferry general store

Harper’s Ferry is West Virginia’s only town on the trail. I think WV gets a total of 6 miles or so and Harper’s Ferry is it’s crowning achievement. There is a lot of history in this town from the Civil War and other battles. I would try to tell you it, but I’d probably get it wrong. There is a part of town that has historic buildings like a general store and blacksmith. There were families, school groups and even a camp group taking in the sights and taking tours. I had a Harper’s Ferry Flurry – much like a Blizzard – and it really hit the spot on the hot days. It got up to 105 the day before we hiked out. It was so nice to be in air conditoning!

Harper’s Ferry was really spread out as it was over a mile to the downtown with retaurants and the outfitter from the hotel. When you don’t have a car you get to walk everywhere and as a thru-hiker you get used to it, but your zero days end up being 3-4 miles. The library was 1/2 mile from everywhere else.

I was delighted to have Neal Friesen join me for an evening and I regret I didn’t get a picture taken. We ate supper and made a trip to Walmart to re-supply. It was so nice to talk with someone that has known me for more than 3 weeks and knows my real name. 🙂 Neal is attending seminary in DC and I know him from Swan Lake as we counseled together and he worked on staff when I was Program Director. We compared notes on long adventures (his cross country bike trip and my trip on the AT) and in general caught up. It was so awesome!

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on July 6, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

