Maryland

Maryland has about 41 miles (40.9 to be exact) of trail in it. Some people try to accomplish this in a day. Some actually go from VA to PA – the 4 state challenge (about 50 miles) in one day. I think this is ludicrous because my feet are killing me after 20 miles. Since I had no intention of hurting myself I took 2.5 days to get through MD.

Norm and Miki Otis

On the way I stayed with Norm and Micki Otis. They live in Thurmont – about 1/2 hour from the trail. They way I got in contact with them was quite crazy. I was hiking in the Shenandoah’s when I came across a park ranger talking with a group of campers. They started asking me questions sand then Miki elbowed Norm and said – we should give her our number. So Got their number and called them while in Harper’s Ferry and got lodging, a ride from and to the trail, a shower and a salmon supper and pancake breakfast. It was awesome! And from people I didn’t know. Amazing! Thanks guys! I think they enjoyed having me and we checked out the trail from google earth. They are both retired and some of the nicest people I know.

Thru MD I encountered a lot more section hikers and runners. Part of that was due to the fact that it was the weekend.

Also, I the last night I was in Harper’s Ferry there was a bad storm that came through. There were a lot of people without electricity and as I hiked out that morning

trees across the path

there were many trees down and I had to climb over a lot. One was even on a swtichback so I couldn’t tell where the trail went.

Another thing that stood out was the fact there is so much history in MD. The trail went through several parks that had war memorabilia – old fortresses, graves of soldiers and lots of tourist things.

MD’s state arachnid must bet the daddy long legs. I have never seen so many in my life! They are daredevils too cause many crossed the trail right in front of me. I don’t think I squished any though.

MD is also the place I saw my first rattlesnake. It scared about 10 years off my life, but all it did was rattle and I waited as it slowly slithered away. Whew!

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on July 11, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

