Caledonia

at the pizzeria

When I got to the road leading into Caledonia State Park I met up with David, Lost, Crazy Top and Yeti. We decided that we were going to walk three tenths of a mile to a pizzeria to get some food. Food is often on a hiker’s mind and we were hungry. No matter that it was just 3 in the afternoon. Food was available and we were going to eat. Crazy Top ordered a medium stromboli and it was about 16 inches. This place knows how to cater to hikers! All the strombolis had names like the bomb-boli, veggie-boli and many others of which I can’t remember at the moment. Mary, I think you should name your stromboli something too. Like awesome-boli or something similar. I ordered a cheese burger and I figured it would come like most of them do at fast food restaurants. No, it was 2 patties in a hoagie bun. Nice! I fed the leftover bread to Yeti’s dog Jada. David is from Ireland, Lost from Germany, Crazy Top from PA and Yeti is from Wisconsin(?). Quite a group of eclectic people. 🙂

This is where Rhoda Keener picked me up to take me to her house. YEAH, another connection. Rhoda was one of the women’s retreat speakers at Swan

The Keeners

Lake this past September. It was by chance that I said I was hiking the trail and that she lives near it. Their house is beautiful and I was very cozy. It was so refreshing to be in a home where there were reminders of Mennonites. For instance I played Dutch Blitz with her grandsons Samuel and Benjamin. It was a good time. Also, they had a copy of Sing the Journey on the piano. I felt at home. Many people on the trail have no idea what a Mennonite is and sometimes I have trouble explaining the differences between the ones that dress very plainly and me. No…I do not have to wear a head covering, my bandana is just to protect everyone from seeing my greasy hair. 🙂 After an awesome meal and comfy sleep Rhoda, Bob, Benjamin and Samuel joined me on a bit of the hike through the park. It was great answering their questions and seeing their enthusiasm for me and the trail. I was very blessed to be able to stay with them. Thank you so much!

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on July 14, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. So thankful that you have these connections which provide refreshing breaks, comforts of home, and a good bed & pillow to rest your weary body. Love the pictures of people, places & “things”! : ) You are amazing – especially to those of us who know we would not have the fortitude in the conditions you have endured. Keep us posted Renee!

Leave a Reply

