Gnasty Gnats

new fashion statement?

It seems with the heat and humidity there are tons of gnats out there. They are especially bad when there is a lot of vegetation, like grasses shoulder high on both sides of the trail. I figured out if I wear my sunglasses they can’t dive bomb my eyes. This is tremendously helpful cause I can see. They often hover around my eyes just waiting for an opportunity to get in. However, on one particular day even with my sunglasses on they were bugging me. (pun intended :)) Since my eyes were unavailable to dive into they were buzzing around my ears, getting into my nose and my mouth. It reminded me of the song Head and shoulders knees and toes. They wanted to get in my eyes, ears, mouth and nose. It is really hard to breath when every other inhale you have a bug going up your nose. Short of waving my hands in front of my face constantly I wasn’t sure what to do. If I did that I would trip over the rocks. Good grief, can I not get any reprieve?!? But then it hit me, I have a bandana and ear plugs…can this work? So I put my bandana over my nose and mouth and put in my ear plugs. This coupled with the sunglasses made for a much better last 4 miles. I could still see the gnats, but they were not getting into my face. I did have some Darth Vader moments though. My breathing and footsteps seemed to be louder. That is why I don’t like ear plugs in general. But, you’ve got to do what you’ve got to do. Hopefully I won’t have to do this too often. I didn’t run into anyone else on the trail for those 4 miles, but I’m sure they would have thought I was going to rob them.

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on July 19, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Shirley Waltner

    Hi: Think of you so often, don’t want to bother you with trivia here in SD but just had to let you know – gnats love me also! I hate them, also mosquito bites but it’s so dry this summer
    have only had a few bites. Was 104 degrees today, I will also sleep on the floor, don’t have central AC, house stays at 90 degrees, window AC hardly makes a dent. Today spent the day with grandson Cody (autistic) because there was an escaped convict between Dolton and Marion – hiding in a cornfield. Parents had to be gone today and they didn’t want to leave him alone on the farm (near Marion) Still hasn’t been caught. Locked my doors today and will continue to do so until he is found. Keep your chin up – my thoughts and prayers are with you………Shirley W.

  2. Very resourceful…I hate the gnats too.

Leave a Reply

