Akron and a zero day

Ricky and Barb Schrag

The day I hiked into Port Clinton PA I did 24 miles. This may not have been the smartest idea ever as my feet were really sore from the little rocks. I even sat down and had a pitty party for myself about 4 miles out from town. I was ready for a zero day and I was propelled by the knowledge that I would be staying with people I know and I would be in a house. Castaway came back up the hill and helped me carry my stuff and then we went to a candy store to wait for Barb Schrag to pick me up. It was awesome that she drove all the way from Akron to pick me up! It was over an hour drive. Barb and Ricky Schrag live across the street from the Mennonite Central Committee offices where Barb works. There was a training session going on there and I saw Matt Tschetter and Amy Kaufman, 2 more Freeman natives. Love it! Barb gave me and my friend Kate (a Hesston schoolmate) a tour. Kate came up from Downington PA to see me and we ate at Oregon Dairy – a buffet- and it was so good! It was awesome being in Mennonite territory. I recognized signs to Lancaster, Allentown and Ephrata. Good stuff!

The Schrags were so welcoming and I was so blessed by them. I stayed in the house next door with Frieda, a MCC volunteer. She was sweet. Thank you! I felt right at home and Barb is trying to get me to come volunteer at MCC when I am done. Who knows. They had a picnic  with their small group and I answered lots of questions and handed out some blog cards. One guy in attendance (John) had hiked the Pacific Coast Trail last year. We swapped stories. It was fun talking with him.

The time was so refreshing and much needed. Thank you Barb and Ricky for your hospitality!

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on July 22, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hiker Renee, Thru your journey, we are being shown how God blesses and provides! You are an awesome witness!

    p.s. I think God understands an occasional pity party too. Affirms the need to send those earthly angels into our lives.

Leave a Reply

