Delaware Water Gap

the Delaware River

Delaware Water Gap is the gateway to NJ from PA. People are gearing up for this town because it means that you are done with the rocks of PA. Many hikers take a zero here to reward themselves for a job well done. There were a lot of hikers there when I was there and it was fun to catch up with some people. Here is where I found out that one girl is going home. Her name is Squishy and I don’t know her all that well, but I was sad that she was leaving. First off – she is a girl and there aren’t that many of us on the trail, but also that she has come so far. She said that it had become too much like a job and she wasn’t enjoying it anymore. There are definitely days like that for me too, but I think I still have the determination to finish. There will still be a lot of people that will drop out, some that I know, before we are done. There is a good group of people around me and I hope that we can all finish together. I guess time will tell.

Delaware Water Gap is a quaint little town and on both sides of it are really nice views. I would love to come back sometime and visit and take in more of the town.

pies galore!

One of the places I would visit again is the farmer’s market bakery. I walked in there and it was a hikers dream! There were tables full of pies, both large and individual size along with other home made goodies. I bought a peach pie and nice cream and ate it for a snack a couple times. So good!

I only stayed in DWG overnight because I was eager to see Alison at Camp Deerpark, the place of my next zero.

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on July 28, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

