Lessons from Morrie

In a care package that a friend sent me was the book Tuesdays with Morrie. I had not read this book and even though it was hardcover I decided to carry it. I thoroughly enjoyed this book! The story line is about a beloved professor that is dying of ALS and a former student that comes to sit with him on Tuesdays to talk about life and death and everything in-between. The wisdom from which Morrie speaks is profound. He talks of loving others, taking time for people and really being with them – not distracted. It often takes looking at death before you realize how you should have lived. I try to do many of the things that Morrie speaks of. I think it is one of the reasons that I thrived so much at camp. Everyone deserves love and respect and I try to give people the benefit of the doubt and try to get to know them. In one shelter on the trail I was talking with an Atheist. He had grown up doing Christian things, but got fed up with the hypocrisy of it all. We had a very interesting conversation and he asked me a lot of probing questions about my faith and there were some things that I didn’t have answers for and I am okay admitting that. Later he told me that most Christians would have gotten defensive and almost become verbally combative. He said I was open minded and it is hard to find people like that on the trail. I am sure that God was using me in that conversation and who knows how I affected his outlook on Christianity. So often we forget to listen when we are in conversation. We just try to get our point across and miss the other part. Life is so much bigger than ourselves. How we live affects others, and we are all human. There are times when we mess up, but we need to own up to that and realize that everyone else is human too and prone to mess up.

One thing Morrie talks about is owning your emotions – fully experiencing them and then not letting them rule you. Recognizing them for what they are and then letting them go. For me loneliness has been one of those recently. Being over half done with the trail and seeing people I know has contributed to it I think. I am ready to get back to a ‘normal’ life, and I miss my friends and family. If I let it, it could rule my trail experience, but I try to say ‘ok, so I am lonely, but I am going to make the best out of this situation.’ I dwell on it for a few minutes and then get on with my day.

I encourage you to read the book Tuesdays with Morrie and really take it’s lessons to heart. I want to live like Morrie did, even in his dying days. I want to leave a legacy.

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on July 31, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hi Renee we’ve read this as well. Quite thought provoking concerning our humanity and how we can be aware how to care for each other. Shirley and Dennis

  2. You already have Hiker Renee. . . You already have. : )

  3. Today, I went to the beachfront with my children. I found a
    sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.”
    She placed the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this
    is entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!

Leave a Reply

