New Jersey

exposed area in NJ

I came into New Jersey with high hopes. I was out of PA and therefore I thought out of the rocks…boy was I wrong. I think the rocks were just as bad in NJ. Not sure why people only talk of PA rocks. Maybe because we aren’t in NJ very long. There are lots of exposed areas on the ridges in NJ, which makes for some great views, but you don’t want to be caught in a lightening storm up there. 🙂 It was really hot until some thunderstorms rolled through, but there was a breeze.

Within the first 11 miles there is a really beautiful spot called Sunfish Pond. Bandana has special memories with this place, so I was looking forward to seeing it. It did not disappoint. Gorgeous!

 

Sunfish Pond

I met Miss Janet in NJ. She is from the south and does trail angel stuff every year. Her van is called the bounce box cause she has everything you might need. I happened to run into her in the morning and enjoyed a Dr. Pepper and an apple. That apple was the best I’ve tasted in a long time! Simple pleasures. 🙂 She will be traveling up the east coast following hikers. She is actually quite famous among the hikers.

Miss Janet and trail magic

I found that the muscles in my legs and shoulders/neck have been sore. I think I have been stepping differently on the wet rocks. I haven’t had sore muscles since the beginning. Maybe I got out of shape on the flatlands of VA. I also have received a sore throat. I hope that it will go away soon. I got some zinc to nip it in the bud. Guess it’s quite a miracle that I haven’t gotten sick until now.

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on July 31, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Never would’ve heard of trail angels, Renee, w/out you going on this incredible journey. Think of all the people you are meeting (God does like variety, doesn’t he? : ) and the seeds you have planted w/out even realizing it! I can’t wait to read your book! : )

Leave a Reply

