Southbounders

New Jersey/New York State Line

In the middle of NY I started seeing southbounders. And these are not just people that are section hiking south bound. These are people that started at Katahdin and are thru-hiking south. The first one I met was named 2 go. He started June 1st, which meant it had taken him 1 month and 23 days to get done what I hope to get done in 2 months. He hopes to finish in late September, me too. Wow, he will be moving! I think if I did it again I might go south because you can take your time and see a lot more maybe.

I’ve since seen quite a few more southbounders – several every day now. We ask

2 go a southbounder

them lots of questions and glean advice from them about the trail ahead. They have valuable information about water and shelters. Some started as early as May 21st.

These people have made it through the White Mountains of New Hampshire and so it gives me hope that I too can do it. I hear it is beautiful and very hard. We shall see in a couple weeks.

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on August 4, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

