Rock Rash

leg scrape

Several days it has been rainy. There was so long where it didn’t rain and now it has been every few days. On one such day I was walking down a slick rock and I slipped and scraped up my leg and arm pretty good. Of course it could have been much worse – no bones were broken or muscles strained – just a bruised ego and black and blue spots.

Earlier that day I had gotten stung by a bee. My trekking pole had gotten caught in a bush and I yanked it free. Apparently the bees living in the bush didn’t appreciate that. They attacked. It stung, but it didn’t swell up at all.

Also I have been fighting a cold. Hopefully by the time you read this I will be over it though. Another hiker who was coughing in the shelter gave it to me. Thanks Talloaf! It started with a sore throat and over a week progressed to a cough. I’m hoping that it goes away soon. It is no fun being sick on the trail and having lower energy levels. I need all the energy I can get!

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on August 6, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I trust you have enough Kleenexes! I enjoyed reading about the Southbounders. Maybe Griz, Gypsy and I ought to consider that route if we thru-hike, bringing us into the Smokies right during the fall colors.
    Pray you continue to stay safe.

  2. I think often about you on the trail and the challenges you face. Then to read about your scrapes and sniffles makes me worry a bit. I slipped on a slippery rock in a cave near the Susquehanna River and those scrapes are painful and seemed to slow healing. Like you, I am thankful it wasn’t more serious. Carry on, Renee. You’re amazing.

Leave a Reply

