Connecticut Thunderstorm

My first day in CT was an exciting one. As I was hiking up Mt. Schaghticoke it started to thunder. I was hoping to get over the top before the lightening came, so I booked it. But of course the worst hit as I was on top, so Castaway and I hunkered down to wait out the storm. It rained hard and Iw as kneeling, bent over my pack and water was running off me, sluicing off of me. I really like that word. 🙂 I waited about half an hour and it seemed like most of it had passed. I don’t relish getting struck by lightening, so I waited a little longer. There were about 12-14 of us spread out on the hillside waiting out the storm.

As I was hunkered down I started to get chilled. I figured I better start moving because I didn’t want to get hypothermia. Once I got moving again I warmed up. As I was going down I walked through puddles that went over my choses and I started singing: Singing in the Rain to get through it. My attitude improved once it stopped raining and my face started to dry. Just about then it started raining harder again. They trail went up again which I did not understand, but it doesn’t pay to question it. I think there is a rule about when it’s raining there has to be more rocks to make it harder to navigate.

There were cool views though between the rain bursts. I finally made it to the shelter and set up my tent in the rain. I got into dry clothes quickly so I could stay warm. I also thought about food a lot on the way down. I was so hungry that I wasn’t even thinking about being tired or wet.

Everything was wet that next morning and thankfully we went to do laundry the next day. It is just something you have to deal with on the trail.

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on August 7, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

