Mass.

I feel like I’m checking states off left and right! Mass is the last of the smaller states, VT, NH and ME all have more than 100 miles of trail in them. So, they will take longer. Here are some highlights from MA:

Upper Goose Pond Cabin

Upper Goose Pond Cabin! The day after I zeroed with Alison in Great Barrington MA I pushed 20ish miles to Upper Goose Pond Cabin. I had heard of their famous blueberry pancakes. The southbounders bring blueberries from the ‘cookie lady’ to put in the pancakes. We had lots of southbounders, so we had awesome blueberry pancakes! I guess if you stay there after all the southbounders have gone through you would be out of luck. Bring your own blueberries! 🙂 I haven’t had pancakes that good in a long time!

I was able to go kayaking while there and it was so good to work my arms for once. I missed camp

Kayaking on Upper Goose

and kayaking around Swan Lake. I felt free without my backpack, after being tied to it for four months. The pond was gorgeous and it reminded me of the boundary waters canoe area. The caretakers Bonnie and her husband volunteer for a week out of the summer each year. They make sure things are clean and act as hosts. They also cook the amazing pancake breakfast. It would be fun to do that sometime.

After staying at the Upper Goose Pond cabin I visited the cookie lady myself. Another northbounder bought some blueberries and he shared them with me. I ate lunch at her picnic table and bought some hard boiled eggs. I don’t get a lot of eggs on the trail. When the ‘cookie man’ gave me the eggs he also gave me 4 little cookies. YUM chocolate chip! What a nice way to end my beef jerky lunch. 🙂

roots

There has been a severe uptick in roots since entering Mass. I am thinking that the roots are just as bad as the rocks on my feet. They get slippery when wet and make your foot turn funny. I hear that Vermont is much like Mass, so more roots and mud! YEAH!

Mt Greylock is the highest point in MA at about 3,400 feet. I started below 1,000 feet so there was

view from Greylock

an over 2000 foot climb. I better get used to it! I actually stayed about 3 miles from the summit and was able to be at a campfire of a group of boys from a camp nearby. It was really cool how they included me in their inner circle for an evening.

 

Race Mountain view

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on August 14, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

