Vermud

yumm, mud!

Vermont is also known as Vermud because there is so much mud. Seems obvious, eh? My first day in VT it hadn’t rained for 3 days and it was still muddy. It was crazy! It was actually pretty fun to walk through the mud and my legs got all dirty. It wasn’t really puddles, but rather just plain old mud. Most of the trails are closed in VT in the spring which is called ‘mud’ season. I can’t imagine what they would be like if it rained every day. It did rain 2 days while I was in VT, but the mud situation didn’t seem to get too much worse.

The other thing about the mud is that it is easier on my feet. There was actually a soft place to set my foot instead of on rocks and roots. My feet thanked me for this. As time went on though the mud became less and the rocks and roots became more. Still there were places in a hemlock or fir forest where the ground is spongy and that was a delight to walk on. It is also a great place to pitch a tent, if there weren’t so many trees and roots in the way.

There were some gorgeous views in early VT. Baker peak was a scramble to get up to the top, but the views

View from Baker Peak

were very rewarding. If that’s how the whites are, I can handle them!

Vermont has lots of variance in foliage. One minute we are in deciduous forest and then all the sudden we are in coniferous forest. There was quite a bit of climbing and I am getting my climbing legs back I think, but it is quite the process!

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on August 17, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Renee, it’s been fun following you on your journey. Enjoy Vermont, that’s my home state where most of my extended family lives. It’s always “mud” season there, but some great views through the Green Mountains!-Scott Conner

Leave a Reply

