NOBO, SOBO, LT or FF

Long Trail sign

The first 105 miles of VT are shared with the Long Trail which goes from the MA/VT border up to

which way?

Canada. There are also people that thru-hike the LT. It was nice to have more company at the shelters. At Maine Junction the Long Trail and the Appalachian Trail separate and the AT veers to the right. Both trails are marked with white blazes so if you really aren’t paying attention you could end up in Canada. There are only about 168 miles of the LT to get to Canada at that point, and way more to get to Canada on the AT. (the AT does actually go into Canada I believe)  So, if that was the plan, I’d take the Long Trail.

Because there are so many different people hiking the trail when you get to a shelter you first ask people if they are northbound or southbound and then at or lt. I was surprised that I actually met 3 new northbounders here in the past week. These are people that started way ahead of me and I am now catching up to them. I’ve also heard that the whites mess people’s schedules up so I may see people I haven’t seen since North Carolina. The trail has a way of having people meet up again.

cool rock formations

This week I also met my first flip floppers. These are people that start in Georgia and walk north for awhile, then they stop, go to Maine and start walking south. People do this because they are running out of time to finish Katahdin by October 15 or they just want to finish on an easier section like VA. I think it would be a little anticlimactic. I am glad I am hiking north. 🙂

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on August 18, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I am sooooooooooooo proud of you! And I have to confess, soooo wish I was with you doing this hike! Makes my trainning for THE GRAVEYARD 100 in March look a bit easy to what you are doing! I often remember the weekend at Swane Lake when I have coffee in a cup from there! Truly was a blessing! ~ I pray that you will be encouraged with my blog articles and will also get a copy of my book. I truly feel you will be blessed! ALL profits go to help orphans in Kenya. We were there last year for three weeks (Pics on Facebook) ~ In prayer for you and your friends for safety and FUN! http://www.therrrick.com (blog)

Leave a Reply

