After the long trail…

After the Long Trail splits off from the AT there are several more miles to go in VT. The nights are a bit quieter, but there are still great views. One of these days my butt got kicked by the mountains. This trail is not easy.

a ladder? really?

Fall is in the air and the sounds of the forest are getting quieter as the birds get ready to leave for the south. It is hard to believe that the leaves are starting to change because it is only the middle of August. I got my cold weather gear back. This means that my bag is now heavier than it was. So I tried to figure out ways I could make it lighter. I thought about giving up my sleeping pad, but decided against that. I did however get rid of my town clothes. Now I have to wear my rain suit when doing laundry. I will make fashion statements all over town!

nice

The last night I was on the Long Trail the person I was in the shelter with and I woke up at 10:30 to a scraping noise. We turned our headlamps on and what did we see? A porcupine! Porcupines like the sweat that comes off the hikers and gnaws on the wood that is on the bench of the shelter because that is where the hikers sit. I wasn’t sure what to do with this animal but we scared it away. I didn’t get any pictures cause I was worried about getting sprayed with needles. Nothing was damaged and the porcupine didn’t come back thankfully!

 

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on August 22, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

