Hanover

The New Hampshire/Vermont border is in the middle of a bridge over the Connecticut River. I can’t describe the feeling of finally getting to New Hampshire. I was pretty excited, almost giddy. But, I was also nervous. I had been hearing about New Hampshire and the Whites and how gorgeous and difficult they are. This marks the fact that there are only 2 states left on this journey. I have gone over 1700 miles and have less than 500 miles left. Wow.

 

 

Hanover is kind of the Gateway to the Whites as it is just on the other side of the VT/NH border. Hanover is a lovely town, and of course very touristy like all other New England towns that I have come to. There were lots of people on the sidewalk as I got there on a Saturday. The road walk was quite warm into the town. I heard it was the longest road walk of the trail. It is amazing to me that there can be such a difference in temperature between in the woods and in town.

Hanover caters to hikers very well. As a hiker you can get FREE donuts at a bakery, a slice of pizza at one of the local pizzerias and a snickers bar from the outfitter. I only took advantage of the pizza as I didn’t want to walk around a lot more. But, as a hungry hiker most people do enjoy this town. They had a library which I did use. I hope that libraries continue to be in communities. They are so helpful!

I enjoyed Hanover. I wish I could have spent more time there, but I went to the next shelter out of town with Castaway and his brother Deadeye (who was hiking a section with Castaway). Velvet Rocks Shelter was the place to stay. I met a couple section hikers there. Interesting conversation. Some people have really deep conversations. Most of my thoughts are very simple like: what will I eat for supper or boy those trees smell good. Simple minds easily amused. 🙂

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on August 25, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

