Short and Sweet and Greybeard (and Bill)

As we were walking to Norwich VT we came across a mailbox that had some trail magic by it. I was checking it out (they had bagels and watermelon and some brownies) and I noticed that there were some people in the yard working on stacking some wood. They came over to me and introduced themselves as Short and Sweet and Greybeard. Short and Sweet reminded me of Denise Nickel. So full of life and generous! They offered a proposition: help us stack wood and we will feed you lunch. Hmm. I thought about it a bit and as Castaway and Deadeye came we decided that we would like to do some upper body work instead of just using our legs. There was quite a pile of wood to stack. Bad Penny helped for a while too. We worked for less than an hour to finish the job and Short and Sweet was good on her word.

We had a lovely lunch of a noodle casserole, bread and banana bread that had chocolate chips in it. Yum. We think we got the better end of the deal. 🙂

As we were eating we were talking about doing laundry in Hanover. Short and Sweet was informing us that they didn’t know of any laundry there. WHAT!!?? No laundry? That is one of the most important reasons to go to town.

funny sign

We did find that there was a wash, dry, fold but there was a ten pound minimum. In a world where every ounce counts, people have 2 pound tents and 1 pound sleeping bags, I don’t know any hiker that has 10 pounds of clothes along. Even if 5 of us would put our laundry together we still wouldn’t have ten pounds. So that was out.

 

Short and Sweet and Greybeard offered to do our laundry for us and bring it to us a few miles down the road in Hanover. Wow, that is so cool! They even gave me clothes to wear for my hike to Hanover while my clothes were being washed. These are true trail angels! They had section hiked the trail and they are lucky to live on the trail and can give back. I would love to do that sometime as well.

Bill is another person that lives close to the trail and he lets people camp in his back yard and gives ice cream bars and has soda for sale for the hikers. He was actually on vacation when we got there (Troverts, Castaway, Deadeye, TallOaf and Wheezy), but his neighbor came and gave us ice cream. As we were getting ready for bed Bill came home and was so excited there were hikers there. He really enjoys the hikers and hearing their stories. He is an older gentleman and I hope that there are others to help take his place when he can’t do it anymore.

This is the same way across most of the trail. The tried and true trail angels are getting older and I hope some continues what they started. I also have noticed that people that I come in contact with on the trail are just so excited about what I am doing. This helps me get excited again too. I love hearing their enthusiasm.

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on August 27, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love hearing YOUR enthusiasm, Renee!!! Hoping you are holding up well. You look great in the photo. Take care.

  2. Lee Taylor , North Augusta, SC alias Airman

    Following your hike. Atlas, you know the one that kept you guys up all night at Big Spring, I was in my tent, we are hiking across the Smokies starting Sep 20. Will continue at Davenport Gap in the spring to Damascus. Take care. Airman

Leave a Reply

