Moosilauke

Moosilauke was the first mountain that we had heard was really difficult. Going northbound would be long but gradual on the way up and going down would be a bear. I mean, it was really steep. The Troverts, TallOaf, Castaway and I decided to slack pack. I called Alison and she came down and was able to take all of our stuff from the Hiker’s Welcome Hostel to the Carriage Motel in North Woodstock where we would end up spending two nights. This would mean 3 nights in a row with shower. Woot!

 

The hike up wasn’t too bad. We were exchanging stories and having a good time. We went up to the south peak and we could see up to the north peak. Oh, we aren’t there yet! The rest of the hike up went on a carriage road so it was a bit more smooth. When we got to the top the views were amazing! They were 360 degrees. We kept looking out as we were climbing and saying we were so HIGH!. Moosilauke is 4810 feet. This is the highest we’ve been in a long time, like the smokies. That was so long ago! I also realized that I will need to start wearing sunscreen because we are above tree line for part of the day. My scalp got sunburned today. And this is all after a 48 degree morning.

view from the top

 

The way down was indeed steep, although Tall Oaf and I agree that going down Blood Mountain was harder. There were wood pieces on the rock and rebar to help you get down. I wasn’t sure how these wood pieces were attached. Were they glued or cemented? I couldn’t tell. I was just glad that they stayed put when I stepped on them. My knees were protesting a bit as I was going down, but all in all my legs held up well. The steps down where beside a cascading waterfall which was beautiful.

 

Wooden steps down the mountain

 

All in all it was an amazing day. We were so glad that it wasn’t raining! We hope it will be nice for the rest of the whites. If the rest of the whites are like this I will LOVE them!

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on August 29, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

