Mahoosuc Notch and Arm

Castaway going between rocks

As long as I can remember when people talk about Maine they have mentioned the difficulty of the Mahoosucs. There was such hype about these that I was getting really nervous about getting to Maine and encountering these obstacles. It helped that I was hiking with Castaway and X and N Trovert.We decided to break up the challenges and camp in between them. So, first up was the notch. In the  notch there were large boulders that had fallen into this crevasse and we were expected to hop and jump our way through them. There was water running below in some places and there were stray water bottles and trekking poles that have dropped down into the cravasses. Luckily we didn’t lose anything, although N’s poles were close several times. The rest of us had put our poles away so we could use our hands to pull ourselves up or use the rocks and roots to help us on the trail.

X navigating the boulders

 

The trail is marked by blazes that go around, under and over these boulders. There were places we had to take off our packs and push them through. There were places we had to use our lacking upper body strength to haul ourselves up. This was a full body workout. I was pretty sore afterwards. My shoulders and back, but also my legs. It took a long time, but it was fun as well. It was nice to realize I could still pull myself up by my arms or let myself down slowly, even with my pack on. We were glad it wasn’t wet for this adventure. It took us about 3 hours to go through this one mile so it was our slowest mile, but most possibly the most fun. 🙂

butt sliding was the only way to go

The next day we encountered the ARM. I decided that things that have been named seem worse than they are. I thought the arm was nothing that scary. I was thinking it was going to be straight up with only hand holds, like a rock climb. It wasn’t any different than climbs we have encountered before. So, I didn’t think it was any big deal. Some of the stuff that isn’t named is much worse, especially when it is raining!

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on September 9, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

