Ponds and Fords

a nice pond

Maine has a lot of ponds. I think in one day we passed by 6 ponds. Some you couldn’t see because there was a

foggy pond

lot of fog, but some were just gorgeous. We ate lunch by one and basked in the sun. These ponds are some of the most beautiful areas on the trail. Of couse the trail around them is usually muddy and boggy, but the views are worth it! If it was a little warmer I would have been tempted to swim. I am sure that the southbounders that were here during the summer would have taken full advantage.

There have also been a lot of streams to cross as well.  Most of the time you can hop across on rocks strategically placed in the water, but when it rains these are actual fords. This means that we have to walk across the water, umm, I mean not ON the water, but THROUGH the water. 🙂 Fording streams can be tricky and uses a lot of concentration. The last thing you want to do is lose your balance and dunk yourself and your pack in the stream, getting everything soaked. We read a note from a fellow hiker about how to ford…facing upstream, going sideways and staying in the rapids (cause it is more shallow there)…and set across. The water was calf deep. I wasn’t afraid as I have forded before, but I wouldn’t want the water level to be too much higher.

One place that we forded Castaway picked up about a million leeches. There was one big one and lots of baby ones that stuck to his shoe. He was pretty freaked out about that! 🙂

fording a stream

stream or a bog?

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on September 13, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. My wife, Donna, has told me about her grandmother’s cabin that was on a leech-filled lake in Maine. When I started reading about the ponds in this post, that was my first thought.
    Off-topic: When in March did you start out at Springer?

  2. The pictures you and the rest of the gang are posting show another beautiful part of Maine. Wish I was still there. Hope you continue to stay safe and dry and enjoying the trek to Katahdin.

Leave a Reply

