Milestones

drying out the tent

So, there have been a couple milestones that we have crossed recently. When we hit 218.4 miles to go we had done 90% of the trail. And we also went under 200 miles this week. WOOT! The end is getting nearer!

snack break

As the end draws near though we are finding our mental fortitude sagging. Maine is a rugged state and it is hard. There are lots of ups and downs and steep parts and roots and mud…the list goes on. So we are tired of all these hard things and are ready to get into a place where we don’t have to think about hiking the next day. I know all trip I have been sleep deprived (and not just because of people snoring) and I won’t catch up until I have this huge goal done. I may sleep for a week! So, I am fighting these emotional lows as we get closer to the summit of Katahdin. I am ready to be done. But, I will finish unless something drastic happens.

pumkins in stratton

There are good days too, September 11 was gorgeous! Fall is in the air and the sun is shining. The temps are dipping into the 30’s for the night and it is hard to get out of the tent in the morning. Thankfully we were in Stratton ME for some of the colder nights. The weather is beautiful for hiking. 🙂 I love fall. And I hear that the mountains will turn into a colorful patchwork as the leaves turn. I am looking forward to that!

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on September 15, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Renee/Kleenex:
    I count it a blessing of God to have met you on the AT in the Smokies and to have been able to follow your journey.
    Looking forward to seeing a picture of you at Katahdin!
    Grace and peace,
    Buzz

    PS
    May be doing a week weeklong from Springer in March. Will tell you more about that at some point.

Leave a Reply

