Monson

Lakeshore backyard

Monson Maine is the gateway to the 100 mile wilderness (which is not rally 100 miles and is not really as much wilderness as it seems). This means it is the last stop in town before you reach Katahdin. What?! we’re here already? Or finally! I imagined the town to be a mecca of thru-hikers and that there would be a lot of bustle. There is some of that, but I hear we missed about 60 hikers yesterday. There is a huge bubble ahead of us. This is my last library update and I won’t update until after I summit. The plan as of now is for me to summit on September 25th. That is if everything goes according to plan. If there is bad weather, then we will wait a day. Evidently Katahdin has it’s own weather just as Mt. Washington.

We are planning 6 days to get through the wilderness and

Amazing Shaw’s Breakfast!

instead of carrying that much weight we will be sending ourselves a bucket with food in it. One of the establishments here sends out buckets to resupply and it seemed like a great opportunity to not carry so much weight. There are logging roads in the wilderness, but they are like 20 miles from civilization. And, you probably have to go about 40 mph on them, so it takes awhile.

It is hard to believe that the next time I have any sort of computer access I will be done with my hike. The big K is out there and we’ll be able to see it long before we get to it because the land is fairly flat before it. In other words it is a stand alone mountain. We are trying to figure out details and such for the rest of the trail and meeting up with Alison and the Trovert’s friends. It is all a bit overwhelming. As we are in the wilderness if you could pray for sure footing and no rain that would be great. We have heard of several people breaking legs in the wilderness. They are so close to finishing, and we are too, but it doesn’t take much to ruin a hike.

As I said, I won’t be able to update for a while. I will be texting my mother as I can, so she may have more up to date info. Thanks you all for all your support!

About Renee

I enjoy adventures. Whether running marathons, thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, working with Service Adventure, or working with youth as Program Director of Swan Lake Christian Camp for 9 years, I have encountered many an adventure. On this site I will try to capture the big and small ones for you. Enjoy!

Posted on September 21, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi Kleenex!
    You probably don’t remember me, but I’m the guy from WI who was wearing a South Dakota teeshirt when we met briefly in Shenandoah NP. I helped you find the Lewis Mt campground store. Congratulations on being so close to the end of your fantastic journey!!
    Lennie

Leave a Reply

